Potomac Valley Running club

The Potomac Valley Running Club is a fitness group made up of members of our congregation and friends.  We have participated in the MCM Half Marathon, DC Spartan, Army Ten Miler and Marine Corps Marathon. We would love for you to come and run with us on Saturday mornings in Montclair.  


Don't run?  Volunteer with us at one of the upcoming MCM events.  We go on nature and mountain hikes in places such as Old Rag Mountain.  


Join our group to participate, train and/or volunteer for one of the upcoming 2017 races.


For more details, contact Julio Areas at julio.areas@yahoo.com


Listed below are upcoming 2017 races:  


Event  Event Date Website Registration
Rock and Roll Half/5k 11-Mar https://register.runrocknroll.com/Register/?event=36817 116/$51
Marine Corps 17.75K  25-Mar http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/17-75k/registration $70
Cherry Blossom 10Miler 2-Apr http://www.cherryblossom.org/ CLOSED
Marine Corps Semper 5ive 21-May http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/historic-half/registration $40
Marine Corps Historic Half  21-May http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/historic-half/registration $65-$90
Run Amuck  10-Jun  http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/run-amuck/registration  $45
Quantico 12K 26-Aug  http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/quantico-12k/registration  $45
33rd Army 10 Miler 8-Oct  http://www.armytenmiler.com/registration/individual-registration.cfm  $90
42th Marine Marathon  22-Oct  http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/marathon/registration  $155
Turkey Trot  18-Nov  http://www.marinemarathon.com/events/turkey-trot/registration  $15.00


2017 Historic Half Marathon training schedule


 Potomac Valley Run Club Historic Half Marathon Training Schedule 
Week Mon Tue Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun  
30-Jan 1 3 miles 3 miles off 3 miles off 4 miles off  
6-Feb 2 3 miles 3 miles off 3 miles off 5 miles off  
13-Feb 3 3 miles 4 miles off 4 miles off 5 miles off  
20-Feb 4 3 miles 5 miles off 5 miles off 6 miles off  
27-Feb 5 3 miles 5 miles off 5 miles off 6 miles off  
6-Mar 6 3 miles 5 miles off 6 miles off 7miles/13.1 race off Rock &Roll Half race day
13-Mar 7 3 miles 6 miles off 4 miles off 8 miles off  
20-Mar 8 3 miles 6 miles off 4 miles off 8 miles/7.4 race off Marine 17.75 race day
27-Mar 9 3 miles 5-6 miles off 4-5 miles off 9 miles off  
3-Apr 10 3 miles 5-6 miles off 4-5 miles off 10 miles off  
10-Apr 11 3 miles 6 miles off 5 miles off 11 miles off  
17-Apr 12 2 miles 6 miles off 5 miles off 12 miles off  
1-May 13 2 miles 5-6 miles off 4-5 miles off 12 miles off  
8-May 14 2 miles 5-6 miles off 4-5 miles off 6 miles off  
15-May 15 2 miles 4-5 miles off 4-5 miles off   13.1 race Marine Half race day
*Highlighted cells are race day event